Word Clips

My Take on the Fundamental Theory of Arithmetic (FTA)

Math is a confusing business. Mathematicians are so lazy that they simplify the most difficult things down to dots (.), yet when it comes to the simplest, most obvious aspects of maths, it’s a completely different story. Whether the aim is to make us think that the impossibly tricky, mind-boggling nonsense is as easy as our ABCs with a little aid of reverse psychology, or whether it’s just the genius anatomy of the mathematician’s brain, I have yet to discover.

But, take the FTA, a 4 worded, 29 lettered title to what’s known to the normal world as common sense. It states, rather boringly, that every number is either prime or can be expressed as the product (multiplied together) of a unique base of prime numbers… I know! I know! You’re waiting on me to complete my rambling, brain-melting, eye-tiring explanation of the FTA. I bet you’re dying to compare its difficulty, and find that it is 1000000000 times more difficult than what the pathetically complex title suggests. You’re still waiting on me to finish.

I have.

And to that simple rule, they have honoured a lengthy, intricate-sounding title, confusing any ear and melting any brain until you smash down the walls created by the difficulty of the title and realise that it is what you already knew. And that, my dear reader, is why I love math oh so oh so oh so much!

#StandardGradeRamblings

Leave a Reply

