Gotta Love Politics.. · My Poems

Not In My Name!

I’m sorry for your pain when you watched your mother dying.
Sorry I’m not there to shelter you, or catch the tears you’re crying.
I’m sorry that you have to live that way.
We stole your country from under your feet; sorry is all I can say.
We destroyed your land, killed your Dads, how are you going to feed?
Not a glass of clean water, not a loaf of bread, not even a seed.

Now, my country did it, and me? Well I’m ashamed.
I try to tell them, they wouldn’t listen, But the war is not in my name.
Now all I can do is apologise for turning your home into rubble.
I paid for your pain, I caused all these tears, but behold! I’m in no trouble.

Some would sit and laugh, say “ha, I don’t live that way.
A shower every morning, hot food in my belly and a warm bed every day.”
But I am not some people, I see your pain as stained as red.
The raping of your little sister, the bullet in your brother’s head.

And all I can do is apologise for wrecking your country like stone to dust.
I am so sorry, you must know, but for me, this war isn’t Just.
And it was my country that did it, and me, well I’m ashamed.
I try to tell them, they wouldn’t listen, but the war is not in my name.

So you choose your leader, defend your country, I guess it’s never too late.
If only they gave you a chance; terrorists is what you were named.
And you may not see it as I do, you may think they are to blame,
But we took their country, we killed their people.
It’s us who should be ashamed!
If only we could unite, all of us together and say
We don’t want to be murderers; this war is not in our name!

Now I say I care, I write this poem,
But it’s a fraction of nothing that has been done.
I’m trying to speak my thoughts aloud,
I see no hope with the rising sun.

And it was my country that did it, and me, well I’m ashamed.
I try to tell them, they wouldn’t listen, but the war is not in my name,
And all I can do is apologise, burn the ground with my eyes from shame,
I try to tell them, they wouldn’t listen,
but this war is not in my name!

written 03/03/2010

Leave a Reply

